The Art of Distraction: A Roadblock to Happy Writing

Everyone gets sidetracked. It’s human nature.

Then there are the procrastinators. Everyone tends to have these moments too. Others, however, have perfected the art of procrastination and letting distractions take root.

As much as I hate to admit it, I am one of those people.

In fact, right now, I’m distracting myself by writing this blog post! I should be writing Through Good and Evil, the next book in my #OneHellOfARomance series. Instead, I’m sitting here typing something else, just so that I don’t have to write my book!

Why?

Who knows. I wish I did. There’s things I know I want to go back and add and change – pivotal, critical, things. Yet, here I sit with you, instead of my book. Part of it is anxiety. These characters, whom I’ve nurtured and developed for years, their story is almost over. Even though I know there are other books in the series, it’s not the same. It’s not THIS story. I don’t want it to end – but I know it has to.

So, let me ask you. Is there any particular time of the day or event, where you distract yourself away from you writing? Is it just because you’re not feeling the story? Is it nerves? Writer’s block?

How do you get over the distractions? What do you do, in order to get yourself back into the groove?

Leave a comment